If You Liked That, Try This: Part 3

The bulk of our emails, messages, DM’s, and comments are from fans who have just finished reading a book they loved and want to know if there is anything else that can give them a similar reading experience.

Due to the high volume of requests for such help, we decided to take a proactive approach and post a few suggestions to better help readers connect with another fantastic novel. The suggested titles work both ways. So if you’ve read one and not the other, regardless of the order they’re listed, the recommendation is still valid.

(This is the third of many posts, so get ready to see similar articles each week for the foreseeable future!)


 

If you liked Brad Taylor’s The Widow’s Strike, try Marc Cameron’s National Security 

if-you-like-that-try-this-part-3-1

The Widow’s Strike: A souped-up version of the H5N1 virus, more commonly referred to as the “bird flu,” has been weaponized by a rogue nation with sinister intentions. Pike Logan and Jennifer Cahill, both of whom are operators for the top-secret Taskforce, a covert government agency, are in Thailand for another job when they hear about an Iranian in the region who’s potentially up to no good. Unbeknownst to them, a scientist working with a pharmaceutical company was infected with the bird flu virus. The Iranian happens across the information and views the situation as his opportunity to weaponize the virus and strike a blow to the enemy. To do this, he’s recruited a “black widow” who will serve as the vehicle for getting the virus out by way of a suicide bomb. With the toxic threat looming, it’s up to Pike and Jennifer to stop the attack before a pandemic breaks out. (Order Now!)

National Security: Three terrorists head to the United States carrying a dirty secret. Each of them has been infected with a deadly biological weapon, which they plan to spread by infecting as many Americans as possible. Those attacks, though, are just the tip of the iceberg. The terrorist group has other attacks planned as well, proving that they can hit America in many different ways. Jericho Quinn, an Air Force veteran turned covert operative who answers only to the president himself, is hellbent on stopping them. But can he figure out their endgame fast enough to stop it? The best scene of this book includes a 747 full of passengers who contract the deadly Ebola-like virus on their way to America. Those pages are riveting and read like a movie, plus they set the tone for the rest of the book. If nothing else, the next time you’re on an airplane and someone sneezes, trust me, you’ll freak out. (Order Now!)

Summary: Both books feature plots about biological warfare and tough-guy protagonists who know how to handle themselves. Likewise, both Pike and Jericho find themselves in a race against the clock to uncover and stop impending attacks. So while the meat of the plots and the directions of the stories are different, both authors delivered action-packed adventures that are a ton of fun to read and impossible to put down. 

Bonus: If you’ve read both of those books and are looking for another political thriller that features a plot about biological warfare, pick up a copy of Brad Thor’s Code of Conduct

If you liked Mark Greaney’s The Gray Man, try Tom Wood’s The Hunter

if-you-like-that-try-this-part-3-2

The Gray Man: In the first novel in Mark Greaney’s hit series, the author introduces readers to a legendary assassin named Court ‘The Gray Man’ Gentry. After a successful career with the CIA, Court is eventually burned, though he’s never given a reason why. He’s made peace with the fact that he can never go home and that his career with the CIA is over, but he longs to one day discover the truth behind what exactly caused his split with the CIA. Until then, though, he’s essentially a hitman for hire. Initially, things go smoothly for the skilled operator. However, it doesn’t take long for a mission he’s on to go south, testing Court and his skills more than anything he’s ever faced before. (Order Now!)

The Hunter: Meet the assassin with no name. No background. No nothing. Known only as Victor the Assassin, he offers his unique skill set to the highest bidders in need of someone to do their dirty work. After taking a relatively straightforward contract, Victor heads to Paris and goes to work. Suddenly, though, he’s ambushed and finds himself in the eye of a conspiracy crap-storm. After he narrowly escapes with his life, Victor goes on the run from other assassins, powerful men, and law enforcement authorities. But killers of Victor’s pedigree don’t hide, and he soon reveals that he only ran long enough to put a plan in place. Once he’s had time to gather himself, he quickly switches from defense to offense, pursuing anyone and everyone who had a hand in his attempted murder. (Order Now!)

Summary: Most of the protagonists in this genre are good, likable men who, while flawed, also have redeeming qualities that make them easy to root for. When it comes to Court Gentry and Victor the Assassin, they’re arguably the two most compelling antiheroes in the game today. Both make someone like, say, Jason Bourne, look like a baby kitten. In fact, these might be the last two dudes in the whole world that you’d want coming after you if someone ever wanted you dead and had the money to pay for it. Bottom line, both characters are capable of breathtaking brutality, and following them around is a ton of fun. 

If you like James Bond, try Ted Bell’s Alex Hawke 

if-you-like-that-try-this-part-3-3

James Bond: Who doesn’t love the British playboy who just happens to be a spy? Ian Flemming’s legendary character is one of the genre’s most iconic characters. 007 has been entertaining readers and moviegoers for decades. While I won’t zero in on any one book, Flemming rarely missed. The man knew how to entertain, and few things are more fun than reading or watching as Bond saves the girl and the day. 

Alex Hawke: Ted Bell’s character, Lord Alexander Hawke, is one of the richest men in all of England. He has his toys, sure, like fancy cars and multiple houses that the average man would drool over. Same goes for his steady string of lady friends. But Hawke isn’t your average, good-looking billionaire. Deep down he’s a tormented soul, having lost nearly everyone he’s ever loved. Rather than sit in his mansions and sip on martinis, Hawke has spent his entire life honing his skills as a warrior. Money aside, Alex is MI6’s best operative, and a highly-trained spy who is magnificently proficient in the art of war. Bell first introduced Lord Alex in Hawke, and he’s since gone on to be one of the genre’s most beloved characters. (Order Now!)

Summary: If you like Bond at all, even a little, you will love Alex Hawke. While Bell’s character does have similarities to Flemming’s, he’s no ripoff. Hawke is unique and even, dare I say it, far superior to 007. On top of that, Ted Bell is a world-class writer whose skills are unmatched in the thriller genre. 

 

Advertisements
  • Jake Roberts

    Love this series! Please post a part 4, 5, 6, … 🙂