A Book Spy Review: ‘Execute Authority’ by Dalton Fury

Dalton Fury.jpg

Kolt “Racer” Raynor is back for more action in Fury’s high-octane follow-up to 2015’s One Killer Force.   

Six months into his first term as president, Gerald Nooman heads to Greece in hopes of holding the NATO alliance together. Along with the United States Secret Service, Kolt Raynor and his team of Delta Force operators are on site to provide additional protection. 

Unbeknownst to Kolt, his guys, or the secret service members tasked with keeping POTUS safe, one of the world’s most lethal snipers lay prone on a hillside behind the scope of his powerful SVD-63 Dragunov rifle, just one kilometer away from where the president and the Greek prime minister stood shaking hands in front of a large crowd. 

A moment later, the sniper fired, his bullet finding the target in a gruesome display of force. The Greek prime minister was dead before the bullet exited the back of his head.

While most everyone else springs to action, relying on muscle memory and training, Kolt manages to catch something that few others even noticed–that the bullet was fired through the prime minister’s left eye–and knew it to be the trademark style of the cold-blooded shooter. The shooter, Rasim Miric, has just one eye, and thus he’s become known for giving his victims a look to match his own. 

For Kolt, the signature shot carries a personal meaning. Years prior, it was Raynor himself who cost Miric his eyeball. 

When forces, including Kolt and his team, pursue Miric’s location, an explosion rocks the block he’s believed to have taken the shot from. While some believe Miric detonated the building, killing himself in the process, Kolt isn’t one of them. Convinced he faked his death to throw everyone off, Raynor continues to search for Miric and eventually uncovers startling news. Not only is the sniper indeed still alive, but he’s now inside the United States. 

While Kolt cannot technically operate inside the United States, he’s known for disregarding orders–especially when breaking them can keep innocent people safe. But his doing so causes him a number of problems, and Kolt soon finds himself on the outside of the operation looking in. 

Realizing that Miric is toying with him personally, still upset over their last meeting nearly a decade ago, Kolt goes off the grid–disobeying all orders–to hunt down the slippery sniper before he finishes picking off his targets. 

Written with spine-tingling authenticity from the man who led the first hunt for Osama Bin Laden (the details of which are written about in his memoir, Kill Bin Laden), Dalton Fury (a pseudonym for a notoriously private former Delta Force commander) delivers the relentless, breathtaking final chapter in Kolt Raynor’s story.

Marc Resnick, Fury’s editor at St. Martin’s Press, opens the novel a note about Dalton, who handed in his final novel just two months before passing away after battling cancer. May this novel, which is certainly some of the best work of Fury’s extraordinary career, serve as a reminder for the type of hard-working, fearless man he was in all aspects of his life. 

Fury’s final treat to readers is just that–a real treat from beginning to end. It was an honor to read and review this novel. If this is, in fact, where Racer’s road ends, fans will appreciate one last blistering, high-powered adventure with one of the genre’s most exciting heroes. 

Execute Authority is an explosive, fast-moving thriller that is a must-read for fans of Brad Taylor, Mark Greaney, Joshua Hood, and Brad Thor. 

Book Details

Author: Dalton Fury 
Series: Kolt Raynor #5
Pages: 400 (Hardcover)
ISBN: 1250120489
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
Release Date: September 5, 2017
Book Spy Rating: 7/10
Order Now!

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s