A Book Spy Audiobook Review: ‘The Sail’ by Landon Beach

ORDER NOW

THe Sail Audiobook by Landon BeachIt was supposed to be a relaxing, memory-making experience for father-son duo Robin and Tristian Norris.

In the end, it was anything but.

Hoping to get away from the world and soak up the sun a bit, Robin and Trist planned a bucket-list worthy adventure to sail around Michigan’s Lake Superior, one of the largest fresh-water lakes in the world. After years of planning and many fun activities on their to-do list, including camping, snorkeling, and maybe even a little treasure hunting, things quickly take an unforeseen turn when a mysterious stowaway is found hidden on their boat. But that’s just the beginning of this page-turning mystery . . .

With more questions than answers, and precious time to figure out what’s going on, it’s the tease of a bigger reveal just on the horizon—the reason the woman is onboard the Norris’ sailboat and what, exactly, she’s running from—that drives the story with thundering authority. In the end, Landon Beach proves yet again why he’s one of the freshest literary voices on the thriller scene, mixing a suspense-filled, Brad Parks-like plot with enough action and misdirection to satisfy all fans of the genre.

With several page-turning thrillers under his belt, Beach continues to flash major breakout potential. Don’t let the title here fool you—The Sail is about far more than just sailing. Action and mystique aside, Beach doubles down on his character development here, fleshing out Robin and Tristian in a way that makes them both relatable and real, and his deep dive into the inner dynamics of their father-son relationship is fantastic. Likewise, the plotting is again really well done, the hallmark of a Landon Beach thriller, and the pacing is fast and steady.

With plenty to work with story-wise, voice actor Scott Brick (who was featured in a CBS morning piece about audiobook narrators) once again delivers in a big way, turning in another flawless performance—something his legion of fans has no doubt come to expect. Highly sought after, Brick continues to step away from voicing household names (such as Tom Clancy, Brad Meltzer, Gregg Hurwitz, Nelson DeMille, Clive Cussler, etc.) to lend his talents to Beach’s books, which have only gotten better each time out, and prove he’s got the chops to one day be mentioned alongside such stars as the authors listed above. 

With Father’s Day just around the corner, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better title to gift the dad in your life than Landon Beach’s The Sail, a wicked-fun thriller that’s espeially perfect for fans of Clive Cussler.

Audiobook Details

Author: Landon Beach
Narrated by: Scott Brick
Length: 6 hrs and 59 mins
Version: Unabridged 
Language: English
Release Date: February 25, 2019

ORDER NOW

 

 


Bonus Content

 


 

Praised as “One of the hardest working, most thoughtful, and fairest reviewers out there” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Scottoline, Ryan Steck has “quickly established himself as the authority on mysteries and thrillers” (Author A.J. Tata). Steck also works full-time as a freelance editor and pens a monthly thriller column for CrimeReads. For more information, be sure to follow him on Twitter and Facebook. He currently lives in Southwest Michigan with his wife and their six children.

Facebook Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.